Skip to content

Christmas Fare & Quirks

December 18, 2021

A jolly tale of festive stuffing (or why avoiding FAQs in Knowledge articles is a tasty treat)

 

In the weeks leading up to Christmas I start hoarding delicious seasonal goodies each time I pop into the supermarket.

Creamy brie, tangy goat cheese; local Yarra Valley delights. Aromatic speciality pates, jars of tiny, piquant olives and sweet pickles, paper-thin prosciutto, artisan wafers and other tasty treats.

Once home, I pack them at the back of the fridge, ready at hand ‘just in case’.

Just in case visitors pop in over the festive season. Just in case we decide to partake of a spontaneous picnic in the park. Just in case a hastily wrapped something is needed as a last-minute gift. Just in case…

The problem is I buy too many things. Every year, most of my Santa stash goes unused. I look smugly at my hoard and when temptation to open a packet or jar strikes, think ‘not yet, not yet’. Or the goodies get hidden behind leftovers and other everyday items, and suddenly they’re past their use by date.

This year, I’m determined to be more judicious in my purchases. I’m also not going to bury my bits and bobs at the back of the fridge; they’ll be in plain sight where I can see them. I shall use them up as needed, without remorse (one can always buy more).

I feel the same way about FAQs in knowledge content. It’s tempting to add them ‘just in case’.  Just in case the main content isn’t clear enough. Just in case we feel the need to stock up on some extra details. Just in case someone insists ‘but, we need them – just in case!’

They linger at the end of articles, mouldering away ‘out of sight, out of mind’ instead of being placed in handy spots where our people can find them ‘in the moment’. Where the information should logically sit – in Key Points, Pricing or Instructions.

Sometimes they’re also a double-up, same content written in a different way, resulting in an over-indulged ‘ate one mince pie too many, push the chair back from the table’, kind of malaise.

So, as one of your New Year’s Resolutions, make it your mission to free your articles from FAQs. Keep all the tasty morsels of knowledge where people can get at them, when they need it. Leave them feeling festively feasted, not stuffed like a turkey dinner.

Merry Christmas, one and all. (Fare & Quirks – see what we did there… FAQs. Ho Ho Ho)

What do you call Santa’s little helpers? Subordinate Clauses.

No comments yet

Leave a comment